Contagious Reads Book Report

February 15, 2015 Book Report, Lindsay's reviews 0

CR Book ReportWelcome to the Contagious Reads Book Report (please say in your head like the Colbert Report)! We’ll be recapping all the books we read this week that didn’t get the full review treatment.

Lindsay’s Books

Schizschizoo
by Nic Scheff
published on September 30, 2014
3 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

The fascinating, shocking, and ultimately quite hopeful story of one teen’s downward spiral into mental illness by the bestselling author of Tweak.

Miles is the ultimate unreliable narrator—a teen recovering from a schizophrenic breakdown who believes he is getting better . . . when in reality he is growing worse.

Driven to the point of obsession to find his missing younger brother, Teddy, and wrapped up in a romance that may or may not be the real thing, Miles is forever chasing shadows. As Miles feels his world closing around him, he struggles to keep it open, but what you think you know about his world is actually a blur of gray, and the sharp focus of reality proves startling.

Written by the New York Times bestselling author of Tweak, Schizo is the fascinating, and ultimately quite hopeful, story of one teen’s downward spiral into mental illness as he chases the clues to a missing brother. Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story.

I was in the mood for a good contemp, rife with angst and grief, and this seemed to fit the bill. It also put an end to my contemp reading streak, effectively killing the urge for more. That’s not a bad thing… it just didn’t live up to my expectations.

I think that Nic Scheff got the vibe down exactly right. I can very easily place myself in Miles’ shoes, feeling the fear and confusion that he lives with on a daily basis. So, 5 stars for that! There were parts of the plot that I felt were unnecessary, and I saw the twist coming from a mile away. Hence the 3 stars.

Depending on your mood and head space, this could be the perfect book for you. Dark, gritty and emotionally complicated.

imitationImitation
by Heather Hildenbrand
published on July 29, 2014
4 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face.

Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?

Heather Hildenbrand is one of those authors I have been meaning to read for YEARS! Dirty Blood has been sitting on my kindle, just waiting for the right opportunity, but for whatever reason, it was Imitation that caught my attention. Human cloning will always be a touchy subject, with strong moral issues, so of course I’m going to read it! There’s conflict before the story has even begun!

Right off the bat, it felt familiar. In fact, it reminds me a lot of The Island, starring Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johansson, but in this case, I enjoyed Imitation more than the movie. Whereas the clones in The Island seemed to be more for medical purposes, Heather’s clones are specially trained for more… political situations. In Ven’s case, she is needed to protect her Authentic, by posing as Raven in the real world.

There are a few scenes with some action, but I feel like this book is mostly building to something bigger. I have a few theories, but there are no answers yet. I need to read Deviation!  I’m not sure whether to hope it’s only a duology, or maybe for a third book?

A copy of this book was provided through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

locksmith

The Locksmith
(A Mindjack Story)
by Susan Kaye Quinn
published on February 10, 2014
4 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

SHORT NOVELLA (STANDALONE) in the Mindjack universe

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

In a world filled with mindreaders, Zeph is a mindjacker who wants to stay hidden—even if it means the cute mindreader in his Latin class is forever out of his reach. He locks and unlocks minds for a ruthless mindjacker Clan in exchange for protection and the chance to have a normal life with his parents and little sister. But when a girl he doesn’t know reveals the existence of mindjackers to the world, Zeph is forced to make a choice: unlock—and ultimately destroy—the mind of a young jacker changeling… or turn his back on everyone he loves.

This little taste isn’t nearly enough to sate my curiosity!

I went about this all wrong. I should have started with Open Minds, the first book in the Mindjack Trilogy. Always ALWAYS start at the beginning! Having said that, The Locksmith can very easily be read as a standalone. I was able to follow along without any difficulty, but I feel like I may have taken a few peeks into the previous series, which would otherwise have been revealed slowly.

This is not my first Susan Kaye Quinn book, but I can see how this series could quickly become my favorite! It’s dark and gritty, but still clean enough for a teen audience. The world building is complete, and I find myself being immersed in a world so different from my own, and yet completely believable. Susan is able to build fully developed characters in just a few pages. I feel like I know Zeph better than some of my own family members! I’m already so excited to see where his story takes him, so I had better hurry and catch up with the Mindjack Trilogy!

A copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

idwma14Ashes in the Night
In Darkness We Must Abide#14
by Rhiannon Frater
published on January 28, 2015
5 STARS!

Goodreads | Amazon

Houston is still burning and countless vampires are dead. Worse yet, Aeron is aware of Armando’s betrayal and seeking vengeance. Vanora and Armando are on the run from the forces sent to capture them and hoping to reunite with Alisha and their friends. Meanwhile, Alisha is desperately trying to make it to the rendezvous point with her newfound werewolf friend, Dexios, and the last of Roman’s vampires.

Vanora hopes for a moment of respite to gather her thoughts and plan her next move, but the forces moving against her are closing in. Death lurks around every corner. The lives of all she cares about are at risk. If she doesn’t act soon, she fears all those she loves will soon be ashes in the night.

This serial is never allowed to end. Ever. Do you think that’s a possibility? Probably not. It’s really starting to feel like the most epic of wars is brewing, and not everyone will be walking away from it. *pleasedontkillarmando* … Oh, and Greg. You can’t kill Greg. Or Alicia… You know, now I think about it, I’m really not okay with losing any of the characters. They all have to kick some serious ass and not die. End of story. This is why I’m not a writer. I can’t make the tough choices. 😉

There is just one single episode to this series left, wrapping up the third season. I’m both dying to get my hands on it, and dreading the end. You may want to buy stocks in kleenex, because I can guarantee I’m going to ugly cry. I seriously can’t recommend this series enough, so if you haven’t started it yet, you can pick up the first
episode –>HERE<–

A copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

lindsay

 

Follow on Bloglovin
The following two tabs change content below.

Lindsay

One woman stuck in a house full of boys, I immerse myself in books and save my sanity by reading, writing and blogging. I'll read just about anything, from any genre, and LOVE supporting Indie authors. <3
Comments are closed.