Contagious Reads Book Report

February 1, 2015 Book Report, Lindsay's reviews 0

CR Book ReportWelcome to the Contagious Reads Book Report (please say in your head like the Colbert Report)! We’ll be recapping all the books we read this week that didn’t get the full review treatment.

Lindsay’s Books

baneThe Bane Chronicles
by Cassandra Clare
published on November 11, 2015
3.5 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.

If you missed it, The Bane Chronicles were originally released as a serial, our newest book trend. I kinda like reading serials, but when they each cost a small fortune, I’m more than willing to wait for the final product. After starting the book, I was MORE than glad that I waited. If I had paid that much for the first couple stories, I would have given up on the whole thing completely! The beginning of the Bane stories left me sooooo bored, and more than a little disappointed. The tales were fluffy, and utterly pointless except maybe to give hardcore fans something to fawn over.

By the end of the book though, I was enjoying the more exciting scenes, and was pulled back from regretting my decision. Honestly, I’m not sure whether or not to recommend them. If you’re frustrated waiting for more books in the series (which may happen later this year?), then it’s definitely nice to revisit a familiar world. Let’s just leave it at that.

The Law of MosesThe Law of Moses
by Amy Harmon
published on November 27, 2015
5 STARS!!! No… MORE! ALL THE STARS!!!

Goodreads | Amazon

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.

And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all…a love story.

I was originally turned on to the book by Colleen Hoover (as I’m sure was the case for many of us), but it sat on my TBR pile for a while. Finally, my co-blogger Lori told me that I had to clear a space in my hectic reading schedule for it. I believe her words were NOW, BITCH (or something equally urgent)! So, that’s exactly what I did.

Ugh. I was so broken. For days. I literally (figuratively) fell apart into little tiny pieces all over my floor. I’m still finding bits of my soul in weird places, like under the couch cushions and in the freezer! No amount of preparation or warning could have helped even in the slightest. It wasn’t the first half of the book that did it. And it wasn’t even the ending, which I was surprisingly okay with. It was the middle. I can’t even say anything about it, because I’m in serious danger of spoiling it for anyone and everyone who will listen. So, please, do us all a favor and go read it, and then we’ll form a support group. NOW, BITCH!

ugly loveUgly Love
by Colleen Hoover
published on August 5, 2014
4 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

My husband finally got the hint (I left it up on the computer screen every day for two weeks) and bought this for me for xmas. He taunted me unceasingly about reading something with such a silly title, but I think it fits the books perfectly. Miles and Tate have this perfectly broken relationship, that really isn’t a relationship at all… and it really does get ugly.

The book is told in two different POVs. It starts off with Tate, who is the dominant of the two voices, and I have to admit, I really disliked Miles from her perspective. He’s moody and thoughtless, and who cares if he’s hot?! But then we switch over to his POV, 6 years in the past. And he is the sweetest damn boy alive. You spend most of the book wondering what the hell could have happened to turn him into such a crank. His chapters are poetic and kinda beautiful. And far too brief!

Here is where I screwed up big time. I read this book immediately after finishing Law of Moses (see above), and somewhere in between, I became a little desensitized. I think I was still missing a few pieces of my soul, and the impact just didn’t gut me enough. (I never thought I would say that) Read this book when you’re in the mood for a good cry and a punch in the gut.

This is definitely for a mature audience, as it is chock full of sexy goodness! Seriously, there is soooo much sex, and it is definitely well written. I LOVED the dialogue. Couldn’t get enough of it!

Beautiful lonely girl  in long dressThe Gathering Storm
In Darkness We Must Abide #13
by Rhiannon Frater
published on October 4, 2014
5 stars!

Goodreads | Amazon

Vanora must find a way to fight her destiny or be lost to the darkness forever. Though her soul yearns for Aeron, Armando has her heart. Yet if Vanora dares to go see the vampire she loves, he’ll be forced by Aeron’s edict to turn her over. If she doesn’t, she risks losing everything she’s ever cared about.

Meanwhile, the few survivors of Aeron’s purge are scattered across Houston and desperate to join forces against him. But there are dangerous new powers in Houston that serve Aeron. Powers that could threaten their fragile hope.

Wow! I forgot how much I really enjoyed this serial. First off, I’m a HUGE Frater fan, and this storyline continues to prove why. All emotions are in hyperdrive, and since I know that Rhiannon isn’t afraid to kill off even her most beloved characters, I really don’t know what to expect. How am I supposed to brace myself when I don’t know when I’m going to run face first into that wall of grief?! This is the 13th episode of this serial, so I am fully invested. I’m in it for the long haul, and there’s no going back!

Serials are hit or miss for me. Sometimes I feel like breaking a story into small pieces like that can disrupt the flow, but with IDWMA, each episode feels like a mini cliffhanger. As I read the last page, I let out a sigh of relief (oh thank god she didn’t kill Armando) and wait desperately for the next episode. They’re long enough to sink my teeth into, but short enough that they can easily be ready within a couple hours.

As the serial is approaching its finale, I’m dreading the inevitable loss. I feel like I’ve watched Vanora grow up, learning her strength and owning it. She’s already been put through so much, but her journey is nearing its end. Armando has been my book boyfriend right from the beginning, and I will miss him dreadfully after this series is over. I’m thinking about starting a petition to have Rhiannon write a story about his past. I would read that… 😉

You can start reading the serial –>HERE<– or you can anticipate how addictive it is, and just get yourself the complete first season –>HERE<–

A copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

losing itLosing It
Losing it #1
by Cora Carmack
published on October 15, 2012
3 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

Last one, I swear. So, I’m pretty sure that everyone read this years ago. It’s a quick read. Nothing earth shattering, but well written. The characters are pretty vanilla, but also realistic. I will undoubtedly continue the series when I’m the mood for something on the light side.

I really enjoyed the fact that the characters took center stage. I was a little concerned that sex scenes would rule the plot, but it was very well rounded. There are some sexually charged scenes, but largely not. The tension never really gets turned up to a high setting… there was never any doubt that there would be a Happily Ever After, because it’s just not one of those books.

In one word? Fun…ish.

lindsay
Follow on Bloglovin
The following two tabs change content below.

Lindsay

One woman stuck in a house full of boys, I immerse myself in books and save my sanity by reading, writing and blogging. I'll read just about anything, from any genre, and LOVE supporting Indie authors. <3
Comments are closed.