Review: Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty

April 4, 2014 giveaway, Lindsay's reviews 11

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Blue Notes by Carrie LoftyBlue Notes by Carrie Lofty
on April 7th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

After being bounced from foster family to foster family, Keeley, a talented pianist, is ready to start over as a junior at Tulane. But when she plays a small concert that attracts the attention of Jude, a brooding playboy and heir to an enormous fortune in the wake of his parents’ tragic death, suddenly Keeley’s life is thrown off balance once again.

Jude is the first person to confront her about the pain behind her music, and she struggles with whether or not to let him into her life, or to keep protecting herself from the hurt that relationships have caused her in the past. But Keeley’s about to learn that the melancholy young billionaire who appears to have everything can open her eyes to exactly what she needs…

Music connects us all, even if it doesn’t always seem that way. While some of us prefer death metal over classical, no one has ever failed to answer the question “what’s your favorite kind of music?” We all have that song that rocks us to our core; our Jam. Keeley feels her music right down to her soul. It takes her into a kind of trance, as she composes. In those moments, she takes the reader with her, getting lost in her own little world. While I loved getting an inside look into her mind, it often put a wedge into the middle of a scene. It did slow the pace down, but it made the scene more detailed. Don’t read this and expect it to be a whirlwind of action. It’s slow and steady, with a lot of character development.

When I read a book that involves music so prominently (though I wish there had been more of it), I can’t help but try to find a deeper connection with it. Due to my own imaginative shortcomings, I always have the most difficult time coming up with suitable music in my head. On that note (pun intended), take a look at the playlist down below. I wish I had seen that list before I had read the book! It would have made it easier to imagine.

In between the important plot, are the more important sex scenes. 😉 Talk about smoldering! Not every scene was believable (the backseat of a car has NEVER been so spacious when I tried fooling around in them) but it didn’t matter! There was some serious chemistry between Keeley and Jude. Speaking of Jude… when I first read that this book was for fans of Jamie McGuire I thought, “My, those are some big claims.” Damned if I wasn’t schooled! They weren’t kidding! Jude may not be quite as aggressive as Travis Maddox, but he has an Alpha Male streak to him a mile wide.  If you’re left wondering what to read after BD, head on over to Blue Notes. You’re welcome.

lindsay

PLAYLIST

“Overjoyed” by Bastille

“A Million Lights” by Cheryl Cole

“Figure 8” by Ellie Goulding

“Sandalwood” by Lisa Loeb

“Fineshrine” by Purity Ring

“Ordinary Day” by Vanessa Carlton

“Never Let Me Go” by Florence + the Machine

“Beneath Your Beautiful” by Labirinth feat. Emeli Sandé

“Sweet Disposition” by The Temper Trap

“Color Blind” by Natalie Walker

“Just Give Me a Reason” by Pink feat. Nate Ruess

“Stay” by Rihanna feat. Mikky Ekko

And all of Keeley’s music was inspired by Michael Nyman’s compositions for the 1993 film, The Piano.

CarrieAUTHOR BIO

Since 2008, RITA-nominated and RT Reviewers’ Choice-winning author Carrie Lofty has over twenty books to her name–or four names, to be precise. Her paranormal (as Lindsey Piper ) and historical romances from Pocket have been described as “nuanced and superbly realized” (The Chicago Tribune) and “sexy, brutal and somehow innocent” (All About Romance). Now Carrie is celebrating her first New Adult romance, Blue Notes , featuring a shy piano prodigy and a New Orleans playboy shouldering his family’s crumbling empire.With Lorelie Brown, the Katie Porter co-writing team has been honored with a Reviewers’ Choice award for Best Erotic Ebook, and the first m/m nomination for RT‘s Book of the Year. Back-to-back releases of their La Femme Nakita-inspired “Command Force Alpha” series will begin in August from Samhain.During her junior year abroad, Carrie lured an unsuspecting Englishman to the Midwest, where she’s kept him a happy ex-pat for sixteen years. With two pre-teen daughters and a master’s degree specializing in the Old West, Carrie is a movie buff, a former ballroom and bellydancer, and a woman in desperate need of a maid service.
Author links:
Follow along with the tour —> HERE <—

giveaway

Blog giveaway
1 ebook copy of Blue Notes (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow on Bloglovin
The following two tabs change content below.

Lindsay

One woman stuck in a house full of boys, I immerse myself in books and save my sanity by reading, writing and blogging. I'll read just about anything, from any genre, and LOVE supporting Indie authors. <3
  • haha I’m the same with the music. Also have you ever read a book with music in the background? I love it when the song perfectly fits the scene you’re reading! >.<

    • Lindsay Galloway

      When I listen to music, it usually involves off-key singing at the top of my lungs. I’m not sure that it works well with reading for me. 😛

  • Victoria

    Great playlist! Thanks for sharing and for the giveaway 🙂

  • Angie Dubisher

    Thanks for the intro to a new book and author!!!

  • marypreston

    It’s a very interesting playlist. It’s a fun cover.

  • Tina Myers

    Great looking book!

  • Bookworm Brandee

    I love a good character driven story. Add in the music element and the smoldering scenes 😉 – this sounds like my kinda read! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the playlist. It’ll be nice to have before/while I read the book.

  • Aww, I’m glad the Jamie McGuire claim wasn’t toooo much! And I’m also glad you liked Keeley & Jude. 🙂

    • Lindsay Galloway

      Thank you for the opportunity to read Blue Notes! I really enjoyed your writing style, so feel free to recommend which one of your books I should read next 😉

      • Thank you! That’s a lovely compliment. If you’re in the mood for a historical, I’ll recommend STARLIGHT. It won the RT Reviewers’ Choice award for “Best British Isles Historical” last year, and is set in Victorian Scotland. Otherwise, I write under two other names. For paranormal, try Lindsey Piper’s CAGED WARRIOR, or for erotic romance, start the “Vegas Top Guns” series with DOUBLE DOWN. Sorry, I couldn’t pick just one 😉

        • Lindsay Galloway

          I love that you have so many different genres to choose from! Thanks for making my to-read list just a little bit longer 😉